Recreation, Park, and Tourism Studies

View faculty by department:

Faculty MemberContactResearch Areas

Jared Allsop

Lecturer

jallsop@indiana.edu
(812)856-3683
PH 133

  • Therapeutic recreation
  • Social effects
  • Summer camp
  • Chronic illness
  • Disability

Fern Bonchek

Adjunct Lecturer

fbonchek@indiana.edu
(812) 855-4711
PH 133

  • Therapeutic recreation
  • Human and animal interactions
  • Equine assisted activities

Joseph S. Chen

Associate Professor

joechen@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1880
PH 148

  • Hospitality
  • Tourism
  • Marketing
  • Health Tourism

Shu Cole

Associate Professor and Associate Chair for Research and Graduate Studies

colest@indiana.edu
(812) 855-9037
PH 133 E

  • Tourist experience management
  • Tourists' service evaluations

Alan W. Ewert

Environmental Health Interim Chair and Professor

aewert@indiana.edu
(812) 855-8116
PH 133A

  • Outdoor adventure
  • Resilience
  • Military veterans
  • Risk motivation
  • Natural environments

James R. Farmer

Assistant Professor

jafarmer@indiana.edu
(812) 856-0969
PH 133

  • Environmental behavior
  • Sustainable behavior
  • Land trusts
  • Conservation easements
  • Local food systems
  • Sustainable agriculture

Jeremy Hatch

Adjunct Faculty

jmhatch@indiana.edu
(317) 650-5106

  • Marketing
  • Analytical Services

Barbara Hawkins

Professor

hawkinsb@indiana.edu
(812) 856-7031
PH 147B

  • Aging
  • Active living
  • Healthy aging
  • Aging well
  • Intellectual and developmental disabilities
  • Statistical modeling of age change

Austin L. Hochstetler

Research Associate, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

auhochst@indiana.edu
(812) 856-2262
IU Research Park, Suite 101

  • Master and Strategic Planning
  • Public/Community Engagement
  • Level of Service
  • Parks and Public Lands

Lynn M. Jamieson

Professor

lyjamies@indiana.edu
(812) 855-8676
PH 156

  • Tourism image salience
  • Leisure industry

Doug Knapp

Associate Professor and Associate Chair for Instruction and Undergraduate Studies

dknapp@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3094
PH 133

  • Environmental education
  • Interpretation
  • Global environmental issues

Julie S. Knapp

Clinical Assistant Professor

julknapp@indiana.edu
(812) 856-1068
PH 133J

  • Management
  • Leadership
  • Student Learning
  • Internship Experiences

Bryan P. McCormick

Chair, Recreation, Park, and Tourism Studies

bmccormi@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3482
PH 133

  • Mental illnesses
  • Social and community functioning

Rasul A. Mowatt

Associate Professor

ramowatt@indiana.edu
(812) 855-4711
PH 133

  • Leisure behavior
  • Social justice
  • Cultural studies
  • Critical Pedagogy

Jennifer A. Piatt

Assistant Professor

jenpiatt@indiana.edu
(812) 855-7819
PH 133B

  • Social inclusion
  • Specialized Camps
  • Adaptive sports
  • Spinal Cord Injury

William Dominic Ramos

Assistant Professor

wramos@indiana.edu
(812) 856-7161
PH 133

  • Aquatics
  • Pools
  • Water
  • Physical activity
  • SOPARC
  • Swimming
  • Waterparks

Mick Renneisen

Adjunct Instructor

trenneis@indiana.edu
(812) 349-3711
IU Research Park, Suite 250

  • Recreational sports management
  • Facility management
  • Personnel management

Craig M. Ross

Professor

cmross@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3102
PH 132

  • Recreational sport management
  • Youth sports
  • Technology
  • Pedagogy

David L. Smiley

Lecturer

dasmiley@indiana.edu
(812) 856-8424
PH 133

  • Student Persistence in Higher Education
  • Technology and Student Learning Outcomes
  • Tourism and Public Health

Jill R. Sturts

Visiting Lecturer

jsturts@indiana.edu
(812)856-1982
PH 133H

  • Recreational sport management
  • Collegiate recreational sport
  • Pedagogy
  • Leisure behavior
  • Physical activity

Frank Vernon

Visiting Lecturer

fvernon@indiana.edu
(812)855-8504
PH 133H

  • Critical Qualitative inquiry
  • Critical pragmatism
  • Critical theory
  • Experiential learning
  • Ethnography
  • Social change
  • Education for democracy
  • Situated learning
  • Social justice
  • Environmental justice
  • Critical curriculum studies

Alison Voight

Assistant Professor

avoight@indiana.edu
812-856-1965
PH 133

  • Therapeutic Outdoor Programs
  • Theory-based Processing
  • Best Practices in Accessibility

Elizabeth H. Weybright

Visiting Lecturer

eweybrig@indiana.edu
(812)855-0203
PH 133J

  • Leisure
  • Adolescence
  • Substance use
  • Risk behavior

Kate Wiltz

Research Associate, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

lkwitz@indiana.edu
(812) 856-3881
IU Research Park, Suite 101

  • Master and Strategic Planning
  • Public/Community Engagement
  • Level of Service
  • Parks and Public Lands

Stephen A Wolter

Executive Director, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

sawolter@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3095
Indiana University Research Park

  • Public parks
  • Recreation
  • Public lands
  • Trail use

Sarah J. Young

Associate Professor

sarjyoun@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3085
PH 133F

  • Legal issues in recreation
  • Physical activity motivational readiness
  • Youth sports
  • Community health issues