Recreation, Park, and Tourism Studies

View faculty by department:

Faculty MemberContactResearch Areas

Jared Allsop

Lecturer

jallsop@indiana.edu
(812)856-3683
PH 133

  • Therapeutic recreation
  • Social effects
  • Summer camp
  • Chronic illness
  • Disability

Joseph S. Chen

Professor

joechen@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1880
PH 148

  • Hospitality
  • Tourism
  • Marketing
  • Health tourism

Shu Cole

Associate Professor and Associate Chair for Research and Graduate Studies

colest@indiana.edu
(812) 855-9037
PH 133 E

  • Tourist experience management
  • Tourists' service evaluations

Alan W. Ewert

Environmental Health Interim Chair and Professor

aewert@indiana.edu
(812) 855-8116
PH 133A

  • Outdoor adventure
  • Resilience
  • Military veterans
  • Risk motivation
  • Natural environments

James R. Farmer

Assistant Professor

jafarmer@indiana.edu
(812) 856-0969
PH 133

  • Environmental behavior
  • Sustainable behavior
  • Land trusts
  • Conservation easements
  • Local food systems
  • Sustainable agriculture

Jeremy Hackerd

Project Manager, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

jhackerd@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0899
IU Research Park, Suite 101

  • Project management
  • Interpretation
  • Public engagement
  • Public history
  • Research
  • Writing

Jeremy Hatch

Adjunct Faculty

jmhatch@indiana.edu
(317) 650-5106

  • Marketing
  • Analytical services

Nona Henderson

Project Manager and Visiting Research Associate

nfcapps@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0864
IU Research Park, Suite 101

  • Park planning
  • Public engagement
  • Interpretation
  • Project management
  • Writing
  • Research

Austin L. Hochstetler

Research Associate, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

auhochst@indiana.edu
(812) 856-2262
IU Research Park, Suite 101

  • Master and strategic planning
  • Public/Community engagement
  • Level of service
  • Parks and public lands

Lynn M. Jamieson

Professor

lyjamies@indiana.edu
(812) 855-8676
PH 156

  • Tourism image salience
  • Leisure industry

Doug Knapp

Associate Professor and Associate Chair for Instruction and Undergraduate Studies

dknapp@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3094
PH 133

  • Environmental education
  • Interpretation
  • Global environmental issues

Julie S. Knapp

Clinical Assistant Professor

julknapp@indiana.edu
(812) 856-1068
PH 133J

  • Management
  • Leadership
  • Student learning
  • Internship experiences

Bryan P. McCormick

Professor and Chair, Recreation, Park, and Tourism Studies

bmccormi@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3482
PH 133

  • Mental illnesses
  • Social and community functioning

Christy McCormick

Program Manager, The Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

chrmccor@indiana.edu
(812) 856-2366
IU Research Park

  • Curriculum development
  • Adult education
  • Distance education
  • Blended learning
  • Instructor training

Rasul A. Mowatt

Associate Professor

ramowatt@indiana.edu
(812) 855-4711
PH 133

  • Leisure behavior
  • Social justice
  • Cultural studies
  • Critical pedagogy

Matt Ostermeyer

Visiting Lecturer

mosterme@indiana.edu
(812)855-0203
PH 133J

  • Cultural competence
  • Diversity
  • Leisure constraints
  • Public recreation
  • Recreational sports
  • Policy
  • Management
  • Accreditation

Sally Pelto-Wheeler

Project Manager, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

sjpelto@indiana.edu
(812) 856-1446
IU Research Park, Suite 101

  • Community health
  • Public health

Jennifer A. Piatt

Assistant Professor

jenpiatt@indiana.edu
(812) 855-7819
PH 133B

  • Social inclusion
  • Specialized camps
  • Adaptive sports
  • Spinal cord injury

William Dominic Ramos

Assistant Professor

wramos@indiana.edu
(812) 856-7161
PH 133

  • Aquatics
  • Pools
  • Water
  • Physical activity
  • SOPARC
  • Swimming
  • Waterparks

Mick Renneisen

Adjunct Instructor

trenneis@indiana.edu
(812) 349-3711
IU Research Park, Suite 250

  • Recreational sports management
  • Facility management
  • Personnel management

David L. Smiley

Lecturer

dasmiley@indiana.edu
(812) 856-8424
PH 133

  • Student persistence in higher education
  • Technology and student learning outcomes
  • Tourism and public health

Jill R. Sturts

Visiting Lecturer

jsturts@indiana.edu
(812)856-1982
PH 133H

  • Recreational sport management
  • Collegiate recreational sport
  • Pedagogy
  • Leisure behavior
  • Physical activity

Alison Voight

Assistant Professor

avoight@indiana.edu
812-856-1965
PH 133

  • Therapeutic outdoor programs
  • Theory-based processing
  • Best practices in accessibility

Kate Wiltz

Project Manager, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

lkwiltz@indiana.edu
(812) 856-3881
IU Research Park, Suite 101

  • Master and strategic planning
  • Public/Community engagement
  • Level of service
  • Parks and public lands

Stephen A Wolter

Executive Director, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

sawolter@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3095
Indiana University Research Park

  • Public parks
  • Recreation
  • Public lands
  • Trail use

Sherril York

Executive Director, National Center on Accessibility

shyork@indiana.edu
(812) 856-4425
IU Research Park, Suite 109

  • Disabilities
  • Assistive technology
  • Accessibility and health promotion

Sarah J. Young

Associate Professor

sarjyoun@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3085
PH 133F

  • Legal issues in recreation
  • Physical activity motivational readiness
  • Youth sports
  • Community health issues

Ye Zhang

Visiting Lecturer

zhangye@indiana.edu
(812)855-8504
PH 133H

  • Tourist behavior
  • Choice behavior
  • Decision making
  • Sustainable tourism
  • Tourism planning
  • Quantitative methodology