Recreation, Park, and Tourism Studies

Faculty by area:

Faculty MemberContactResearch Areas

Jared Allsop

Lecturer

jallsop@indiana.edu
(812)856-3683
PH 133

  • Therapeutic recreation
  • Social effects
  • Summer camp
  • Chronic illness
  • Disability

Analena Bruce

Post-Doctoral Fellow

anabruce@indiana.edu
(812 ) 855-8502
PH 133

Joseph S. Chen

Professor

joechen@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1880
PH 148

  • Social impacts of tourism
  • Hospitality and tourism marketing
  • Sustainability in hospitality and tourism

Ya-Ling Chen

Visiting Lecturer

chen72@indiana.edu
(812 ) 856-1981
PH 133

Hana Cleveland

Project Manager, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

hclevela@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1436
IU Research Park, Suite 101

Shu Cole

Associate Professor

colest@indiana.edu
(812) 855-9037
PH 133 E

  • Tourist experience management
  • Tourists' service evaluations

Shay L. Dawson

Director, Bradford Woods

sldawson@indiana.edu
(765) 342-2915
Bradford Woods

Alan W. Ewert

Environmental Health Chair and Professor

aewert@indiana.edu
(812) 855-8116
PH 029 & PH 133A

  • Outdoor adventure
  • Resilience
  • Military veterans
  • Risk motivation
  • Natural environments

James Robert Farmer

Assistant Professor

jafarmer@indiana.edu
(812) 856-0969
PH 147

  • Community food systems and sustainable agriculture
  • Natural resources and protected areas conservation/sustainability
  • Environmental and sustainable behavior
  • Rural landscapes and people
  • Community based participatory research
  • Institutional analysis

Brian Forist

Lecturer

bforist@indiana.edu
(812 ) 855-0203
PH 133

Jeremy Hatch

Adjunct Faculty

jmhatch@indiana.edu
(317) 650-5106

  • Marketing
  • Analytical services

Nona Henderson

Project Manager and Research Associate, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

nfcapps@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0864
IU Research Park, Suite 101

  • Park planning
  • Public engagement
  • Interpretation
  • Project management
  • Writing
  • Research

Ryan Kenin Hines

Visiting Lecturer

rkhines@indiana.edu
(812 ) 855-8504
PH 133

Brandon Howell

Lecturer

bdhowell@indiana.edu
(812 )855-3102
PH 132

Lynn M. Jamieson

Professor and Interim Chair

lyjamies@indiana.edu
(812) 855-8676
PH 156

  • Tourism image salience
  • Leisure industry

Eric Glenn Knackmuhs

Visiting Lecturer

eknackmu@indiana.edu
(812 ) 855-5990
PH 133

Doug Knapp

Associate Professor and Associate Chair for Research and Graduate Studies

dknapp@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3094
PH 133

  • Environmental education
  • Interpretation
  • Global environmental issues

Julie S. Knapp

Clinical Assistant Professor

julknapp@indiana.edu
(812) 856-1068
PH 133J

  • Management
  • Leadership
  • Student learning
  • Internship experiences

Bryan P. McCormick

Professor

bmccormi@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3482
PH 133

  • Mental illnesses
  • Social and community functioning

Christy McCormick

Senior Program Manager, The Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

chrmccor@indiana.edu
(812) 856-2366
IU Research Park, Suite 101

  • Curriculum development
  • Adult education
  • Distance education
  • Blended learning
  • Instructor training

David Mihalic

Adjunct Faculty, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

dmihalic@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3095,
PH 133

  • Trans-frontier and global protected areas
  • World heritage
  • Natural and cultural resource management
  • Economics of public choice
  • Leadership development
  • Politics and policy of natural resource management

Rasul A. Mowatt

Associate Professor & Associate Chair, Instruction and Undergraduate Studies

ramowatt@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3089
PH 133

  • Leisure behavior
  • Social justice
  • Cultural studies
  • Critical pedagogy

Oghenekaro Omodior

Assistant Professor

oomodior@indiana.edu
(812) 856-7031
PH 112A

Sally Pelto-Wheeler

Project Manager, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

sjpelto@indiana.edu
(812) 856-1446
IU Research Park, Suite 101

  • Community health
  • Master and strategic planning
  • Public/Community engagement
  • Curriculum development

Jennifer A. Piatt

Assistant Professor

jenpiatt@indiana.edu
(812) 855-7819
PH 145B

  • Social inclusion
  • Specialized camps
  • Adaptive sports
  • Spinal cord injury

William Dominic Ramos

Assistant Professor

wramos@indiana.edu
(812) 856-7161
PH 133

  • Aquatics
  • Pools
  • Water
  • Physical activity
  • SOPARC
  • Swimming
  • Waterparks

Mick Renneisen

Adjunct Instructor

trenneis@indiana.edu
(812) 349-3711
IU Research Park, Suite 250

  • Recreational sports management
  • Facility management
  • Personnel management

William Roche

Senior Project Manager, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

wroche@iu.edu
(812) 856-2262
IU Research Park, Suite 101

David L. Smiley

Lecturer

dasmiley@indiana.edu
(812) 856-8424
PH 133

  • Student persistence in higher education
  • Technology and student learning outcomes
  • Tourism and public health

Alison Voight

Assistant Professor

avoight@indiana.edu
812-856-1965
PH 133

  • Therapeutic outdoor programs
  • Theory-based processing
  • Best practices in accessibility

Laura Kate Wiltz

Project Manager and Research Associate, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

lkwiltz@indiana.edu
(812) 856-3881
IU Research Park, Suite 101

  • Master and strategic planning
  • Public/Community engagement
  • Level of service
  • Parks and public lands

Stephen A Wolter

Executive Director, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

sawolter@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3095
Indiana University Research Park

  • Public parks
  • Recreation
  • Public lands
  • Trail use

Sherril York

Executive Director, National Center on Accessibility

shyork@indiana.edu
(812) 856-4425
IU Research Park, Suite 109

  • Disabilities
  • Assistive technology
  • Accessibility and health promotion

Sarah J. Young

Associate Professor

sarjyoun@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3085
PH 133F

  • Legal issues in recreation
  • Physical activity motivational readiness
  • Youth sports
  • Community health issues